The Problem with Clotheslines

Photo by Grant MacDonald (via Flickr)

Photo by Grant MacDonald (via Flickr)

I came upon an interesting article in the New York Times titled, Debate Follows Bills to Remove Clotheslines Bans,” ironically, as I was using up energy doing laundry. Apparently, clotheslines for many are unattractive and for that reason they do not want to see them around their neighborhoods.

I find it disheartening that many still focus on the aesthetics of things instead of thinking of the kind of environment that future generations will inherit from our actions today.

I do not use a clothesline because of the lack of space at my place but I have reduced my impact by doing other things in the laundry room like washing full loads in cold water instead of hot and switching to environmentally friendly detergent.

As for those that have the space in their homes for a clothesline, they should be allowed to use them.

The problem with clotheslines, as the article hints at, is that they are seen as something that poor people are forced to do. Poor or not, everyone should be doing everything possible to reduce their impact on this planet.

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Hi,

    thanks for the great quality of your blog, each time i come here, i’m amazed.

    black hattitude.

  2. 2

    Mary q Contrarie said,

    I definantly understand how you feel. I do not have a yard that will accomodate a clothesline either. What I have done is get me a couple laundry drying racks. This allows me to air dry and save energy and cut my carbon footprint.

    I am always amazed about how much some people worry about how it is going to look. When our coasts are all flooded with sea water and we have millions of refuges with out homes how is that going to look?

  3. 3

    lillysunn said,

    I have a clothesline and I am not poor,thanks God I have been bless with a huge backyard.
    The reason for doing this is to contribute with mother nature ,we have done so much damage that it’s time to star caring for the world we live in.
    by the way, it’s so much faster to get your clothes dry by hanging them outside then putting them in the dryer and you don’t have to listen to that annoying dryer.
    I enjoy reading this note and learning about blogs just by checking this page.

  4. 4

    accesshealth said,

    My childhood memories recall clotheslines that hung outside my small backyard. We grew up in a two bedroom apartment with nine people at one point. We were humble and efficient. But in those days, everyone seemed to have owned a clothes line in that dream-pumping luminous barrio. Clothesline connected a shared task between my neighbor and myself. It was sort of like a meeting point for us where we got to share intercultural experiences and stories of all kind.
    At this point to care about whether a clothesline is related to your economic status is not as imperative as caring about this earth. People everywhere are making healthier environmental choices even if it means to reverting to old ways because the concept has changed.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

